Skip to content

900 Miles in 2012

January 4, 2012

Yeah, yeah, yeah.  Resolutions, resolutions, resolutions.  (Tired of them yet?)

I’m going to run 900 miles this year.  To most of my running friends, this does not seem like a lot.  It is after-all, only about 17 miles per week.   Which doesn’t sound like a lot to me right now at all.  But you see, I have yet to go a year without being sidelined by injuries and/or sicknesses.  So this year, my goal is to train smarter and train healthier.  So I guess there are a ton of mini-goals within this goal.  Such as:

  • Do yoga.  No seriously.  Do it.  Not only when I feel an injury coming on…
  • Work on strength training.  Squats and pushups for real.
  • Rest when rest is needed and deserved.
  • Listen to my body.  Know when to slow down (mentally and physically)
  • Keep it steady.  Even training over 52 weeks with rest weeks and active training, but no huge spikes of mileage.
  • Eat better.  Fuel my body with stuff that grows in soil.  Preferably local soil.

I’m feeling pretty pumped that 2012 is going to be my best yet if I can just remember to listen to my body (and my brain occasionally.)  More goals…

Follow me on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2012 11:30 am

    Yoga is a very good thing, though sometimes frustrating for those of us who struggle with being still. Suggestion? Try a few different kinds of practice – vinyasa flow, power yoga, basic hatha, ashtanga, etc – so that when your body needs the yoga but doesn’t want to slow down you’ve got options for getting through it. Also? 900 miles sounds pretty awesome to me!

Leave a Reply

