Skip to content

Race Recap: 2012 Broad Street Run

May 21, 2012

Can you tell I’m behind on posts?  A BSR recap, three weeks late?  What gives?  Well, almost immediately after I took of my shoes from BSR, I started to pack for Ragnar Cape Cod…  And then I was off for an insane four days of running, no sleep, running some more, clam chowder, still no sleep, and then more running.  (It was heaven!)  Can I even remember what happened at Broad Street? Let’s see!

As always, Broad Street logistics are great.  I heard a few grumble-grumbles from the Twitter-sphere about really long lines at the expo.  (I heard someone say they waited two hours?  Note to self:  Don’t think you’ll beat the crowds by going on your Friday lunch hour.)  I visited the expo Friday at 3:30PM and went right to the volunteer table to grab my bib.  No lines! I was chatting with a few of the vendors and told them about The Monster Milers, and two said, “Oh, we met another Miler today already!” and another two, “Oh, we’ve read about you guys!”  (I have to admit, I did feel slightly like a celebrity.)

Sleepy face! No one else is awake…

Race morning:  I jumped on a train a few blocks from my house, and 20 minutes later I was at the start.  I always enjoy getting to large races quite early.  (I usually head straight to the portapotties and then find a nice spot to eat a snack and lightly stretch out.)   For last year’s race, it was my first double-digit event so I was a ball of nerves before the race.  This time I just took in the sights and enjoyed the energy of tens of thousands of other runners.

After a really awesome watch-free PR the previous weekend at the Iron Girl Half Marathon, I decided to run without a watch for Broad Street.  I PRed it by five minutes, though I was expecting to PR it so it wasn’t that much of a surprise to me at the end.  I could definitely feel that I had just raced a half marathon the previous week.  I could just “feel” that my legs could go faster, but I couldn’t make them go faster.  And the wonderful thing about the entire scenario?  I didn’t really care.  I knew that the way I felt was directly related to the effort I put into the previous weekend’s half marathon.  I found solace in the fact that I shaved 7 minutes off my half marathon record just seven days before.  When it’s taken in perspective, there wasn’t much to fret about.  So I just enjoyed the race, and gave it my all.

Broad Street Medal and Bib…

Final Time:  1:25:53 (Overall:  8885/34062, Sex: 2881/19050, Div: 549/3705)

Follow me on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Follow my training on DailyMile

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 2:30 pm

    Congrats on another great race! Sounds like you’re having a fun racing season 🙂

Leave a Reply

