Skip to content

Redefining Running Goals

August 14, 2012

Remember this from earlier this year?  My goal list:

There comes a time when it’s not only practical, it’s also impossible not to, redefine goals.  My main goal this year  was to run 900 miles; the list above contained sub-goals in my pursuit of the lovely 900 miles.  Surely, it’s not an epic distance for many runners, but for injury-prone-Carrie, it was a big jump over my 700 miles of 2011.  I knew that total-body fitness was going to be important for injury prevention.

Which is where I fell of the wagon… in a big way.

Yoga?  Yeah, maybe four times January-April.

Strength training?  Who has time when I ran an Iron Girl half marathon one weekend, the next weekend ran Broad Street (10 miles), and the next weekend ran my second Ragnar up in Cape Cod.  I was all about miles, miles, miles.

Rest?  Did you see my last point?  I didn’t even have a five day’s recovery between Broad Street and Ragnar.  I had a mere seven days between my half marathon PR of  8-minutes and Broad Street (another five minute PR).  Note to self:  Never again.

Listen to my body?  Right before my third Ragnar leg (after 45 minutes sleep the night before) I just about cried because I was so physically tired that my emotions started to get a bit haywire, but I couldn’t let the team down, duh.  (And I didn’t.  I ran my heart out.  And then drank some beer.  And then slept, like a baby.)

Keep it steady?  Well…

Eat better?  Hooray!  I did this.  I’m thrilled with the amount of fruits and veggies I’m putting in my body.  (I’m drinking a Great Lakes – Burning River Pale Ale as I type this, but for the most part what’s gone in, has been good.)

Anyway, needless to say this is what happened:

I’ve been half-running / half-not running for the last three months.  A good week is twelve miles; a bad week is six.  I learned all about a new injury this year:  posterior tibial tendonitis.  PTT is keeping my runs to no more than 3 miles, 2-4 times per week.  It’s BRUTAL.  So basically what I’m saying is – that goal of 900 miles?  It needs to be redefined.  And for a while I was REALLY bummed about it.  But in retrospect, it’s a luxury to be able to redefine my fitness goals.  Sometimes in life we’re bound by goals we can’t get out of.  Everyday I deal with work deadlines and goals that aren’t flexible or pliable.  I have things in my personal life that HAVE to get done.  I have phone calls I’m required to make.  Bills I have to pay.  Chores around the house that need to get done to maintain sanity.  But with my running, I have the freedom to just say, “Stop.  It’s just a number.  Enjoy the process, not only the end-goal.”   I’m not going to cling to an arbitrary number and drive myself into a stress fracture.  I’m going to let it go.  So that I can open myself up to healing.

I haven’t even put a number goal on this year.  To be honest, once I’m feeling more optimistic about my injury (and healing), I might grab a calculator and look at a calendar to come up with a number that isn’t only challenging, but also realistic.  I haven’t registered for any Fall races, but I would really love to do two halfs this Fall.  I think it’s doable if I’m smart about how I approach race day.

So back to the basics.  Last weekend, a dear friend of mine (who is gearing up to become a yoga instructor) came over to my house after a run to tailor a post-run yoga routine just for me.  And you know what?  I’ve completed it after each run this week, and I’m starting to feel a difference in my foot.  (I also did two, hour long yoga classes this week.)  I can’t go out and run ten miles yet, but I can see a time in the not so distant future, when I can head out for a double-digit morning (after a few weeks of training of course.)  Until then, I’m resting.  I’m stretching.  I’m doing squats.  I’m doing all of the things that I was supposed to be doing.  I guess this is a another lesson, right?

Were you ever forced to redefine your goal?  How did you feel about it?

Follow me on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Follow my training on DailyMile

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

