Skip to content

Reaction to Runner’s World “Don’t Go Into Those Hills…” article

September 3, 2012

As a dog lover, pet professional, rescue advocate and the CEO of a non-profit that does as lot of work with mixed-breed dogs, I was disheartened by the sensational article printed in the Oct. 2012 issue of Runner’s World magazine.

Since it was all said on our non-profit blog, I’m just going to link to the post.  I sincerely hope the editors of RW think twice before publishing the article online without SERIOUS edits.

And here’s a picture of my loyal running partner, who in some municipalities, would be labeled a “Pit Bull” even though she’s likely some mix of a terrier/boxer/who-know’s-what.   She is my best-friend, my protector, my pavement-pounding partner, my snuggle-master.

Image

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2012 9:32 am

    I’m the slower 1/2 of of “TWINS RUN in our family”. I have yet to read the Runner’s World article, so I cannot comment directly on the article. I do appreciate your willingness to share your opinions. And, I think your suggestions should be listened to by Runner’s World. I can only write from my own experience. I loved my family’s dogs very much. However, I am also very afraid of dogs because friends and family have been attacked by dogs, including my sister while running. One article in Runner’s World is not going change my opinions, my loves or my fears. In my opinion, there are vicious dogs, just like there are vicious people. I do my best to avoid both.

  2. September 3, 2012 9:33 am

    I’m the slower 1/2 of of “TWINS RUN in our family”. I have yet to read the Runner’s World article, so I cannot comment directly on the article. I do appreciate your willingness to share your opinions. And, I think your suggestions should be listened to by Runner’s World. I can only write from my own experience. I loved my family’s dogs very much. However, I am also very afraid of dogs because friends and family have been attacked by dogs, including my sister while running. One article in Runner’s World is not going to change my opinions, my loves or my fears. In my opinion, there are vicious dogs, just like there are vicious people. I do my best to avoid both.

Leave a Reply

