Skip to content

My Own Race

September 7, 2013

Once a year I like to treat myself to a race all to myself.  (OK, I did it in 2012, and being that it’s 2013, it doesn’t exactly constitute an annual pattern yet, but I like to think that it will become one.)  This is what I do, and it’s not shocking or special.  I sign up for an out-of-town race, book a hotel, and go all by my lonesome self.  No friends, no hubby, no sidekicks.   Right now I’m sitting on a plush couch, in a hotel in the lovely Bethlehem, PA for the Lehigh Valley Via Half Marathon.

Chillin' in a random park in Bethlehem PA.

Chillin’ in a random park in Bethlehem PA.

I love my Ragnar buddies (DC in FOUR WEEKS!) and it’s always fun to have a familiar face waiting for you at the finish line, but these me-races are a whole different breed.  Restful, replenishing, rejuvenating.  (Ok, ask me how I’m feeling 90 minutes into the half marathon tomorrow morning.  I might have a slightly different perspective about the restfulness of race vacations.)

IMG_2759

Hopefully the course won’t have a ton of hills like this. Please?

But for now, it’s like a total me-vacation.  I can geek out at the expo without my husband wondering why I need to look at so many tech shirts.  I don’t need to follow a crowd into a restaurant that I don’t really want to go to.  I just go wherever.   I explore the town, usually with no destination in mind.   Book and water bottle in my backpack.

Library book in my lap = happiness.

Library book in my lap = happiness.

I realize how blessed I am to be able to “waste” an entire hotel room on just yours truly.  (I think I might jump on the bed I’m not going to sleep in just so it gets some use. )  For many people who travel for business, it might not feel so decadent to go on a mini-trip alone, but for me it’s a total hoot.  (I did just use the word hoot, and truth be told, you probably will too in conversation in the next three days.  Go on.  Do it.)   I even considered ordering room service, but that’s going too far.  There looks to be a sweet burrito joint around the corner that I’m going to hit up for my solo dinner before curling up with a book tonight.  (Don’t worry – I’ll order something tame.)

Love this house...

Love this house…  Bethlehem, PA

Catch you on the flipside (of 13.1 miles.)  Here we go!

Follow me on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Follow my training on DailyMile

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2013 6:08 pm

    I love traveling by myself too. It’s nice to do whatever you want to do without having to consult with others.

  2. September 7, 2013 7:06 pm

    I feel less stress when I go to races by myself for some reason.

  3. September 7, 2013 7:21 pm

    I think this is a great idea! Good luck! I’m new to your blog and am really enjoying it. Thanks 🙂 -Sarah

  4. September 8, 2013 11:24 pm

    I read your blog post yesterday, and I’ve been thinking how cool this self-runcation is! I’m so tempted to try this myself sometime!

  5. September 9, 2013 12:29 pm

    What a cool idea! Sometimes having to deal with fellow running club members’ pre-race freakouts, sharing hotel rooms, and having to coordinate everyone’s schedules for an awkward pasta dinner is too much.

Trackbacks

  1. solitude racecation idea

Leave a Reply

