Skip to content

A-Month-in-the-life-of-Carrie-recap

June 26, 2012

So this is another post that begins with excuses about why I haven’t written in a over a month.  The truth is, I just didn’t feel like it.  So I didn’t.  That’s all.  In the weeks leading up to Max’s death and the days following, I wrote some pretty emotional posts about preparing for the loss, coming to grips with losing him, and realizing life was going to go on.   To be honest, after writing about the experience, I found that anything I wanted to write about seemed trite in comparaison.

But lately I’ve been getting the itch to write again, here you have it.  A month-in-the-life-of-Carrie-recap!   (I know, not a super exciting post, but I’m hoping that inspiration will find me along the way if I start writing again.)  In many ways, the last few weeks have just been about enjoying my life and my family.

We camped.

Mmmmm… Coffee over the fire!

We spent time with wonderful friends and neigbhors at a Memorial Day block party.

Yes, I live on the best block in Philly.

And had a block dinner party.  (If you can’t tell, we enjoy eating food in our street, literally.)

Eating in the street… the perfect way to spend a Summer Saturday night.

I lead two “Adopt a Running Buddy” events for our non-profit in May.

Monster Miler Volunteers hang out with Greg, an adoptable running buddy from PAWS at the ODDyssey Half Marathon.

Survived a heat wave Philly-style.

Who popped the fire hydrant?

I ended up injured and didn’t run for over three weeks.  (Three endurance races in three weekends was a bit too much for me… another lesson learned the hard way.)

But I was able to hike throughout my injury (thank heavens!), and did a loop-trail to two summits along the PA Appalachian Trail.

The view from the top! Weeeeee!

My favorite hiking buddy gets some smooches!

We scouted out various wedding venues for our “Second Wedding” with my mom and Grammy.

LOVE.  (Mom and Grammy, touring Tyler Arboretum…)

I ADOPTED A NEW DOG, Jax, from our partner shelter, Philadelphia Animal Welfare Society (PAWS)!  He’s a stellar running buddy and Lola is thrilled to have him around.  (Friendly reminder:  Don’t shop – adopt a running buddy.)  We had been “looking” for a dog at various shelters for a few weeks.  PAWS called us last week and said, “We have a dog, the running volunteers love him.  He’s REALLY stressed out in the shelter and not doing well at all with all of the noises and commotion.  Can you pick him up to foster?  We have to get him out of the shelter.”  Of course.  Once we got him home, I knew he was the right fit.  No dog is ever going to replace Max, but our home feels whole again with two dogs.  We’re still learning his quirks and gaining his trust.  It’s a fun time in our household.

Jax gets a bath the day after we brought him home…

I check my roof garden everyday for signs of non-green tomatoes.  Today we got our first tease!  By the end of the week, we’ll be eating tomatoes, warm from the vine.  (The only way they should be eaten IMHO.)

My roof-tomatoes are killin’ it this year!

We booked a trip to Lake Tahoe and Yosemite!  The hubby and I are going to spend a week hiking, drinking local wine and searching for hidden swimming holes.  I’m counting the days!

Oh and I’m running again.  I came off the injury, and logged 12 pain-free miles last week.  Gonna kick it up to 20 this week and see how the ol’ tootsies feel.  And did I mention, I have two running buddies now?  Yeah, it feels awesome.

Jax & Lola stop for a picture break. “Mom, why aren’t we running? Take the photo already!”

Follow me on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Follow my training on DailyMile

2 Comments leave one →
  1. strawberryjamntoast permalink
    June 27, 2012 2:38 am

    Nice to hear from you again! Yay for running, vacation and a new four legged family member 🙂

  2. June 27, 2012 6:16 am

    Looks like a wonderful month and yay to the new running buddy!

Leave a comment